Transforming Tourism

Large Arrow

Tourism turnaround in Central America

Biodiversity and the ecosystem services of nature are of outstanding importance for a permanently good quality of life for people worldwide. The partner countries in this project, the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica, are considered as biodiversity hotspots, with a very high level of species diversity, including some endemic species. This high level of biodiversity not only fulfills important ecosystem functions, but also represents a very important tourism attraction as a natural resource and thus secures the local economic basis for many people employed directly or indirectly in tourism. Becoming sustainable is not easy. It requires not only new methods, but a new way of thinking. A fundamental tourism turnaround. This transformation of tourism can only succeed with the cooperation of all stakeholders involved. The collaborative and committed work towards the tourism turnaround is the basis for this project.

Together for the tourism turnaround

The project is implemented by a consortium consisting of KATE Umwelt & Entwicklung e.V., the Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development and the Global Nature Fund in cooperation with TourCert gGmbH. By promoting sustainable tourism development, the project contributes to the protection of valuable ecosystems while strengthening local value creation in Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic.

The partner organizations in the target countries are Grupo RBA in Costa Rica and the Instituto Dominicano de Desarrollo Integral (IDDI) in the Dominican Republic. In addition, there is close cooperation with the local sustainability councils in the three destinations. The project is supported by the Austrian Development Agency (ADA) with funds from the Austrian Development Cooperation.

Approaches for sustainable destinations

Climate neutral pilot hotels

Maximum resource efficiency (electricity and water), use of solar energy and biogas where appropriate, sustainable catering with consistent food avoidance; networks of local sourcing, behavioral communication to kitchen staff and guests, composting, waste avoidance, green filters for wastewater, compensation payments for biodiversity actions, green roofs and facades, investment in water-efficient infrastructure and recreational opportunities / hikes for biodiversity-related guests, and raising awareness of climate-neutral business.

Zero plastic destianations

Plastic reduction and replacement as an entry point to a ‘Zero Waste Destination’ with general waste reduction, waste separation, recycling, local cycles, promotion of local organic producers, small artisans, local recycling centers for waste separation and recycling, service providers and start ups, etc.

Certified sustainable catering companies

Reducing food waste, resource efficiency, adapting menus to local conditions, building networks for local sourcing and production, training and managing of kitchen staff, communicating sustainable foodservice offerings to employees and guests.

Pilot Actions Climate Neutral Destination

Entry into the process of developing a climate-neutral destination based on the climate-neutral hotels, education and communication programs on resource efficiency and sustainable gastronomy, consulting of accommodations and largest energy consumers in resource efficiency, promotion of renewable energy installations, investments in reforestation and biodiversity, waste recovery and recycling, networks for local procurement and development of circular economy, biological wastewater treatment in accommodations and at destination level, qualification of consultants and multipliers; exchange of experiences and conferences for the distribution of the model, etc.

Market positioning of climate- and biodiversity-friendly travel products

Development and market positioning of innovative travel products of the certified destinations together with European tour operators; sensitization of travelers and enthusiasm for the exemplary sustainable travel products.

The three pilot destinations

Las Galeras is a Dominican village on the east coast of the Samaná Peninsula and is included as a destination within the project. The region is known for its beautiful beaches, different types of ecosystems and a wide range of biodiversity.

In Sarapiquí, Canton in the province of Heredia in Costa Rica, there are a number of nature reserves and national parks. In particular, ecotourism has developed strongly in recent years, thanks to recreational activities in the Sarapiquí River.

Sarchí, capital of the Valverde Vega canton, is the most famous craft center in Costa Rica. The capital is also very well known for its immense biodiversity and is a popular tourist destination.

All three destinations have TourCert certification and are positioning themselves for the future, each with a sustainability council, partner businesses and an agile network structure.

The partner destinations Sarchí, Las Galeras and Sarapiquí.

Become part of the initiative!

With the Transforming Tourism project, we contribute to the protection of valuable ecosystems and at the same time strengthen local value creation in Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic. Are you interested in a cooperation or in further information? Please feel free to contact us.

Günter Koschwitz

Partner I Senior Auditor

koschwitz@tourcert.org

+49 711 24839711

esende

Transforming Tourism

Large Arrow

Drei Reiseziele auf dem Weg zu nachhaltigem Tourismus

Biodiversität und die Ökosystemleistungen der Natur haben eine herausragende Bedeutung für eine dauerhaft gute Lebensqualität der Menschen weltweit. Die Partnerländer in diesem Projekt, Dominikanische Republik und Costa Rica, gelten als sogenannte Biodiversitäts-Hotspots, hier findet sich eine sehr ausgeprägte Artenvielfalt mit teilweise endemischen Arten. Diese hohe Biodiversität erfüllt nicht nur wichtige Ökosystemfunktionen, sondern stellt als natürliches Angebot auch eine ganz wesentliche Tourismusattraktion und somit die Sicherung der lokalen Wirtschaftsgrundlagen für viele direkt oder indirekt im Tourismus beschäftigten Menschen dar. Nachhaltig werden ist nicht einfach. Es erfordert nicht nur neue Methoden, sondern ein neues Denken. Eine grundsätzliche Tourismuswende. Diese Transformation des Tourismus kann nur in Zusammenarbeit aller beteiligter Akteure gelingen. Das gemeinschaftliche und engagierte Wirken hin zur Tourismuswende ist die Grundlage für dieses Projekt.

Gemeinsam für die Tourismuswende

Umgesetzt wird das Projekt von einer Arbeitsgemeinschaft bestehend aus KATE Umwelt & Entwicklung e.V., der Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde und dem Global Nature Fund in Zusammenarbeit mit der TourCert gGmbH. Das Projekt leistet durch die Förderung einer nachhaltigen Tourismusentwicklung einen Beitrag zum Schutz der wertvollen Ökosysteme und stärkt gleichzeitig die lokale Wertschöpfung in Costa Rica und der Dominikanischen Republik.

Die Partnerorganisationen in den Zielländern sind Grupo RBA in Costa Rica und das Instituto Dominicano de Desarrollo Integral (IDDI) in der Dominikanischen Republik. Zudem wird eng mit den lokalen Nachhaltigkeitsräten in den drei Destinationen zusammengearbeitet. Das Projekt wird gefördert durch die Austrian Development Agency (ADA) aus Mitteln der Österreichischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

Die Logos der Partnerunternehmen des Projektes Transforming Tourism

Handlungsansätze für nachhaltige Destinationen

Klimaneutrale Pilothotels

Maximale Ressourceneffizienz (Strom und Wasser), Nutzung der Solarenergie und ggf. Biogas, nachhaltiger Gastronomie mit konsequenter Vermeidung von Lebensmittelverschwendung; Netzwerken lokaler Beschaffung, verhaltensorientierter Kommunikation an Küchenpersonal und Gäste, Kompostierung, Vermeidung von Abfällen, Grünen Filtern für Abwasser, Kompensationszahlungen für Biodiversitätsaktionen, Dach- und Fassadenbegrünung, Investition in wassereffiziente Infrastruktur und Freizeitangeboten / Wanderungen für Gäste mit Biodiversitätsbezug und Sensibilisierung für Klimaneutrales Wirtschaften.

Zero Plastic Destinations

Plastikreduktion und –ersatz als Einstieg in die ‚Zero Waste Destination‘ mit genereller Abfallreduktion, Abfalltrennung, Recycling, lokalen Kreisläufen, Förderung von lokalen Bioproduzenten, Kleinhandwerkern, lokale Wertstoffhöfe zur Abfalltrennung und Verwertung, Dienstleistern und Start Ups, etc.

Zertifizierte nachhaltige Gastronomiebetriebe

Reduktion der Lebensmittelabfälle, Ressourceneffizienz, Anpassung der Speisekarten an die lokalen Bedingungen, Aufbau von Netzwerken zur lokalen Beschaffung und Produktion, Training und Steuerung des Küchenpersonals, Kommunikation von nachhaltigen Gastronomieangeboten an Mitarbeitende und Gäste.

Pilotaktionen Klimaneutrale Destination

Einstieg in den Prozess zur Entwicklung einer klimaneutralen Destination anhand der klimaneutralen Hotels, Bildungs- und Kommunikationsprogrammen zu Ressourceneffizienz und nachhaltiger Gastronomie, Beratung der Unterkünfte und größten Energieverbraucher in Ressourceneffizienz, Förderung von Anlagen der erneuerbaren Energien, Investitionen in Aufforstung und Biodiversität, Abfallverwertung und Recycling, Netzwerke zur lokalen Beschaffung und Aufbau der Kreislaufwirtschaft, biologische Abwasserbehandlung in Unterkünften und auf Destinationsebene, Qualifizierung von Beratungskräften und MultiplikatorInnen; Erfahrungsaustausch und Konferenzen zur Verbreitung des Modells, etc.

Marktpositionierung klima- und biodiversitätsfreundlicher Reiseprodukte

Entwicklung und Marktpositionierung innovativer Reiseprodukte der zertifizierten Destinationen gemeinsam mit europäischen Reiseveranstaltern; Sensibilisierung der Reisenden und Begeisterung für die exemplarischen nachhaltigen Reiseprodukte.

Die drei Pilotdestinationen

Las Galeras ist ein dominikanisches Dorf an der Ostküste der Halbinsel Samaná und wird als Destination im Rahmen des Projekts aufgenommen. Die Region ist bekannt für ihre schönen Strände, verschiedene Arten von Ökosystemen und eine große Bandbreite an biologischer Vielfalt.

In Sarapiquí, Kanton in der Provinz von Heredia in Costa Rica, befinden sich eine Reihe von Naturschutzgebieten und Nationalparks. Insbesondere der Ökotourismus hat sich in den letzten Jahren, dank der Freizeitaktivitäten im Fluss Sarapiquí, stark entwickelt.

Sarchí, Hauptstadt des Kantons Valverde Vega, ist das berühmteste Handwerkszentrum Costa Ricas. Auch die Hauptstadt ist für seine immense Artenvielfalt sehr bekannt und ein beliebtes Tourismusziel.

Alle drei Destinationen haben die TourCert-Zertifizierung und stellen sich mit jeweils einem Nachhaltigkeitsrat, Partnerbetrieben und einer agilen Netzwerkstruktur zukunftsfähig auf.

Die Logos der Partnerdestinationen Sarchí, Las Galeras und Sarapiquí.

Werden Sie Teil der Initiative!

Mit dem Projekt Transforming Tourism leisten wir einen Beitrag zum Schutz der wertvollen Ökosysteme und stärken gleichzeitig die lokale Wertschöpfung in Costa Rica und der Dominikanischen Republik. Möchten Sie das Projekt finanziell unterstützen oder haben Interesse an weiteren Informationen? Melden Sie sich gerne bei uns.

Günter Koschwitz

Project Manager

koschwitz@tourcert.org

+49 711 24839711

esende