Turismo Comunitario

Large Arrow

Community-based tourism in Latin America

Everyone should benefit from tourism – travellers, travel companies and the local population. Turismo Comunitario (English: Community-based Tourism) is a form of tourism in which travellers spend their holidays in rural regions in order to get in touch with the local population and get to know their lives, culture and traditions in an authentic way. At the same time, new income opportunities are created locally, sustainable development is promoted and nature conservation is improved.

Together for community tourism

TourCert supports this approach and has therefore been involved in the Turismo Comunitario project in Ecuador since 2017. Due to the successful outcome, a follow-up project was initiated to transfer the concept to the neighbouring countries Peru and Colombia. The activities of the projects are coordinated by the two non-profit organisations kate Ecology and Development and VSocial Foundation. The German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) provides financial support for this commitment. The project revolves around indigenous communities from Ecuador, Peru and Colombia, which TourCert supports as an expert for sustainability in the field of community-based tourism.

The Goal – Joint Development towards economic independence

Community tourism has a long tradition in Ecuador as part of the indigenous movement. Travellers get authentic insights into the everyday life of the local population and can learn more about indigenous cultures first hand, e.g. on guided hikes, while helping out in the fields and at agricultural work, at workshops to learn traditional crafts such as pottery and weaving or while cooking together. For the local communities, this integration into tourism is important both to pass on their culture and to generate additional income to traditional sources of income such as agriculture and livestock farming, and consequently to become more economically independent.

The project partners have agreed on the following guidelines:

  • to strengthen the self-government of the municipalities through the development of the tourism business,
  • to promote solidarity and the common good by sharing the benefits of tourism and creating jobs with fair working conditions,
  • valuing the natural environment and biodiversity and thus preserving and cultivating the natural and cultural heritage as an elementary life strategy,
  • promoting social identity through appreciation of local culture and intercultural exchange,
  • quality orientation and innovative product development, promotion of service quality, guest satisfaction and business development.

Step by step

Understanding the initial situation

Together with local consultants, the project managers first carried out an analysis of the status quo and the development of community-based tourism over the last 15 years. Based on the data collected, subsequent activities could then be planned, designed and implemented in line with the target group.

Develop measurable standards

With the support of the local project managers, TourCert developed a generally valid catalogue of criteria as a guideline for the management of community-based tourism. The municipalities discussed and evaluated this on the basis of their practical experience.

Start pilot process

The catalogue of criteria is currently being introduced and reviewed in five pilot communities in Ecuador, five communities in Peru and three pilot communities in Colombia. Finally, certification by TourCert will take place. The first community Yunguilla has already been successfully certified. In addition, the project team supports the communities and their tourism development through theme-specific workshops on product development and marketing.

Learning from experience

After the pilot destinations, the model will be transferred to other communities in the Andean countries. The findings from the pilot processes will be taken into account. The association and the pilot communities will be available to other interested communities for events and assistance.

Extension and Networking

The aim is the long-term exchange between the communities and marketing measures to disseminate the model. TourCert supports the campaign with its own marketing activities and promotes the exchange with other members of the community.

Joint success story

A lot has happened since the start of the project in May 2017:

Catalogue of criteria

For the organisational model of community tourism, a new catalogue of criteria was developed in exchange with local partners and the communities. In particular, it was revised and adapted with regard to regional differences and country-specific features. The catalogue of criteria can thus be used beyond the end of the project and will enable the certification of community tourism initiatives in Latin America in the future.

Pilot communities

The improved organizational model with certification system is currently being implemented in several pilot communities in Ecuador, Peru and Colombia. The community of Yunguilla in Ecuador was the first indigenous community to be successfully certified with the TourCert seal at the end of 2018. This success is now to be transferred to other communities.

Transfer

The TourCert system for community-based tourism has successfully passed the first practical test in the pilot communities in Ecuador. For this reason, the commitment was also transferred to other Latin American countries and an Andean network was established.

Multiplication

The cross-border network with partner organisations, associations and local political institutions is having an impact. The Turismo Comunitario projects are highly accepted and of great interest to the local population. There are already enquiries from other interested communities who would like to get involved in the process.

Become part of the initiative!

Community-based tourism is the new type of encounter travel – authentic, unadulterated and a real highlight for your product portfolio. Dialogue and cooperation with German tour operators are also sought to market the offers developed in the communities. Are you interested in a cooperation or further information? Feel free to contact us.

Günter Koschwitz

Head of Audit & Development

koschwitz@tourcert.org

+49 711 24839711

esende

Turismo Comunitario

Large Arrow

Gemeindetourismus in Lateinamerika

Vom Tourismus sollen alle profitieren – Reisende, Reiseunternehmen und die lokale Bevölkerung. Turismo Comunitario (deutsch: Gemeindetourismus) ist eine Form des Tourismus, bei der Reisende in ländlichen Regionen Urlaub machen, um mit der lokalen Bevölkerung in Kontakt zu treten und deren Leben, Kultur und Traditionen auf authentische Weise kennenzulernen. Gleichzeitig sollen vor Ort neue Einkommensmöglichkeiten geschaffen, die nachhaltige Entwicklung gefördert und zum Naturschutz beigetragen werden.

Gemeinsam für den Gemeindetourismus

TourCert unterstützt diesen Ansatz und beteiligt sich daher seit 2017 am Projekt Turismo Comunitario in Ecuador. Aufgrund des erfolgreichen Verlaufs wurde ein Folgeprojekt initiiert, um das Konzept auch auf die Nachbarländer Peru und Kolumbien zu übertragen. Koordiniert werden die Aktivitäten der Projekte durch die beiden gemeinnützigen Organisationen kate Umwelt und Entwicklung und VSocial Foundation. Das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) unterstützt das Engagement finanziell. Dreh- und Angelpunkt des Projektes sind indigene Gemeinden aus Ecuador, Peru und Kolumbien, denen TourCert als Experte für Nachhaltigkeit zum Thema gemeindebasierter (englisch auch: community-based tourism) Tourismus zur Seite steht.

Mädchen in traditionellem Kostüm auf einem Umzug in Ecuador.

Das Ziel – Gemeinsame Entwicklung zur wirtschaftlichen Selbständigkeit

Der Gemeindetourismus hat als Teil der indigenen Bewegung eine langjährige Tradition in den Andenländern. Reisende erhalten hierbei authentische Einblicke in den Alltag der lokalen Bevölkerung und können hautnah mehr über indigene Kulturen erfahren, z.B. bei geführten Wanderungen, beim Helfen auf dem Feld und bei landwirtschaftlicher Arbeit, bei Workshops zum Erlernen von traditionellen Handwerken wie Töpfern und Weben oder beim gemeinsamen Kochen. Für die lokalen Gemeinden ist diese Integration in den Tourismus wichtig, sowohl um ihre Kultur weiterzugeben als auch um zusätzliche Einnahmen zu traditionellen Einkommensquellen der Land- und Viehwirtschaft zu erwirtschaften, und folglich um wirtschaftlich selbstständiger zu werden.

Folgende Leitlinien haben die Projektpartner vereinbart:

  • Stärkung der Selbstverwaltung der Gemeinden durch eine Ausgestaltung des Tourismusgeschäfts,
  • Solidarische Wirtschaftsweise und Förderung des Gemeinwohls durch gemeinschaftliche Nutzung der Erträge aus dem Tourismus sowie Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen mit fairen Arbeitsbedingungen,
  • Wertschätzung der natürlichen Umwelt und Biodiversität und damit Bewahrung und Pflege des Natur- und Kulturerbes als elementare Lebensstrategie,
  • Förderung der sozialen Identität durch Wertschätzung der lokalen Kultur und interkultureller Austausch,
  • Qualitätsorientierung und innovative Produktentwicklung, Förderung von Servicequalität, Gästezufriedenheit und Geschäftsentwicklung.

Schritt für Schritt

Ausgangssituation verstehen

Gemeinsam mit lokalen Beratungskräften haben die Projektverantwortlichen zunächst eine Analyse des Status Quo und der Entwicklung des Gemeindetourismus in den letzten 15 Jahren durchgeführt. Ausgehend von den erhobenen Daten konnten darauffolgenden Aktivitäten zielgruppengerecht geplant, gestaltet und umgesetzt werden.

Messbare Standards entwickeln

Mit Unterstützung der lokalen Projektverantwortlichen entwickelte TourCert einen allgemeingültigen Kriterienkatalog als Leitfaden für die Wirtschaftsweise des gemeindebasierten Tourismus. Die Gemeinden diskutierten und evaluierten diesen auf Basis ihrer Praxiserfahrungen.

Pilotprozess starten

Zunächst wird in fünf Pilotgemeinden in Ecuador, fünf Gemeinden in Peru und drei Pilotgemeinden in Kolumbien der Kriterienkatalog eingeführt und überprüft. Abschließend erfolgt die Zertifizierung durch TourCert. Die erste Gemeinde Yunguilla ist bereits erfolgreich zertifiziert worden. Ergänzend unterstützt das Projektteam die Gemeinden und ihre touristische Entwicklung durch themenspezifische Workshops zur Produktentwicklung und Vermarktung.

Aus Erfahrungen lernen

Nach den Pilotdestinationen wird das Modell in weitere Gemeinden der Andenländer übertragen. Hierbei werden die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse aus den Pilotprozessen berücksichtigt. Der Verband und die Pilotgemeinden stehen interessierten weiteren Gemeinden für Veranstaltungen und für Hilfestellungen zur Verfügung.

Verbreiten und vernetzen

Ziel ist der langfristige Austausch zwischen den Gemeinden und Marketingmaßnahmen zur Verbreitung des Modells. TourCert unterstützt die Kampagne durch eigene Marketingaktionen und fördert den Austausch mit anderen Mitgliedern aus der Community.

Gemeinsame Erfolgsgeschichte

Seit dem Start des Projekts im Mai 2017 hat sich einiges getan:

Kriterienkatalog

Für das Organisationsmodell des Gemeindetourismus wurde im Austausch mit lokalen Partnern und den Gemeinden ein neuer Kriterienkatalog erarbeitet. Insbesondere wurde dieser hinsichtlich regionaler Unterschiede und länderspezifischer Besonderheiten überarbeitet und angepasst. Der Kriterienkatalog kann somit über das Projektende hinaus genutzt werden und ermöglicht damit zukünftig die Zertifizierung von Gemeindetourismusinitiativen in Lateinamerika.

Pilotgemeinden

Das verbesserte Organisationsmodell mit Zertifizierungssystem wird momentan in mehreren Pilotgemeinden in Ecuador, Peru und Kolumbien umgesetzt. Die Gemeinde Yunguilla in Ecuador wurde Ende 2018 als erste indigene Gemeinde mit dem TourCert Siegel erfolgreich zertifiziert. Dieser Erfolg soll nun auch auf weitere Gemeinden übertragen werden.

Transfer

Das TourCert-System für Gemeindetourismus hat den ersten Praxistest in den Pilotgemeinden in Ecuador erfolgreich bestanden. Aus diesem Grund wurde das Engagement auch auf weitere Länder Lateinamerikas übertragen und ein andines Netzwerk aufgebaut.

Multiplikation

Das länderübergreifende Netzwerk mit den Partnerorganisationen, Verbänden und politischen Institutionen vor Ort zeigt Wirkung. Die Turismo Comunitario Projekte stoßen auf eine hohe Akzeptanz und großes Interesse der lokalen Bevölkerung. Es gibt bereits Anfragen von weiteren interessierten Gemeinden, die auch in den Prozess einsteigen möchten.

Werden Sie Teil der Initiative!

Gemeindetourismus ist die neue Art der Begegnungsreisen – authentisch, unverfälscht und ein echtes Highlight für Ihr Produktportfolio. Zur Vermarktung der in den Gemeinden entwickelten Angeboten wird auch der Dialog und die Zusammenarbeit mit deutschen Reiseveranstaltern gesucht. Haben Sie Interesse an einer Zusammenarbeit oder an weiteren Informationen? Melden Sie sich gerne bei uns.

Günter Koschwitz

Head of Audit & Development

koschwitz@tourcert.org

+49 711 24839711

esende