Tourism Excellence Uganda

Large Arrow

Preserve natural and cultural treasures

Uganda is known for its beautiful nature, its unique flora and fauna and its cultural wealth. This makes the East African country very attractive as a tourist destination. In order to put tourism on a sustainable path that strengthens local value creation and preserves natural resources and cultural heritage, our Tourism Excellence Uganda project is focusing on sustainable tourism development. We are supported by the Austrian Development Agency (ADA).

Teaming up for the future

Together with the Swiss tour operator Private Safaris, a specialist brand of DER Touristik Suisse AG, we want to set positive impulses in Uganda and create sustainable tourism offers. With the local partner Sustainable Travel & Tourism Agenda (STTA), a consulting enterprise for the implementation of sustainability in tourism, a local qualification network will be established. The representatives of the national associations for tour operators (Association of Uganda Tour Operators) and for hotels & accommodation (Uganda Hotel Owners’ Association) will be trained on sustainability, quality and service standards in cooperation with STTA and Private Safaris, so that they can guide their member companies towards sustainability and ultimately certification.

Logos der Partner für Projekt Uganda

Step by step

Lay the foundation

Together with the local partner STTA, the qualification needs of the tourism stakeholders are determined and a corresponding concept is developed. After a comparison of methods and tools of TourCert and STTA, consultants of the local partner will be instructed in train-the-trainer courses in order to become active themselves as trainers and to accompany tourism enterprises on their way to certification.

Qualify & empower

The newly educated trainers from STTA, in cooperation with TourCert, will then train and qualify the representatives of the national hotel associations (Uganda Hotel Owners’ Association) and tour operators (Association of Uganda Tour Operators) through further train-the-trainer courses. They will also be enabled to pass on sustainability knowledge to their members.

Pass on knowledge

Together with STTA, the representatives of the national associations will conduct training courses on sustainability and quality standards for their members and lead individual pilot companies to the TourCert Check or certification. In addition, there are special workshops on pioneering fair product development and a programme to strengthen local added value together with Private Safaris.

Networking & marketing

The participating tourism companies and the associations unite as “Excellence Destination Community Uganda” and position themselves on the market as a sustainable destination Uganda. The project enables networking within the national community and (favours) market access to Europe with the international TourCert Community, among other things through a global innovative portal solution.

Spread & report

Through lectures at events and holiday fairs, social media campaigns, workshops on communication work for employees of travel agencies and through our press work, the activities in Uganda are reported and the new sustainable tourism products are promoted in the country itself, in the TourCert Community and beyond.

Discover Uganda for yourself!

Whether you are a traveller or a tour operator, Uganda is definitely worth a trip. With the project Tourism Excellence Uganda we promote quality and sustainability standards locally and support the development of new responsible products. Are you interested in a cooperation or in further information? Please do not hesitate contacting us.

esende

Tourism Excellence Uganda

Large Arrow

Natur- und Kulturschätze wahren

Schon Winston Churchill bezeichnete Uganda als „Perle Afrikas“ – die herrliche Natur, die einzigartige Tier- und Pflanzenwelt und der kulturelle Reichtum machen das ostafrikanische Land als Reiseziel sehr attraktiv. Mit unserem Projekt Tourism Excellence Uganda möchten wir einen Beitrag leisten, um den Tourismus in verantwortungsbewusste Bahnen zu lenken, lokale Wertschöpfung zu stärken sowie Natur- und Kulturschätze zu wahren.

Gemeinsam für die Zukunft

Zusammen mit dem Schweizer Reiseveranstalter Private Safaris, einer Spezialisten-Marke der DER Touristik Suisse AG, möchten wir in Uganda positive Impulse setzen und nachhaltige touristische Angebote schaffen. Mit dem lokalen Partner Sustainable Travel & Tourism Agenda (STTA), einem Beratungsunternehmen für die Umsetzung von Nachhaltigkeit im Tourismus, bauen wir ein Qualifizierungsnetzwerk vor Ort auf. Die VertreterInnen der nationalen Verbände für Reiseveranstalter (Association of Uganda Tour Operators) und für Hotels & Unterkünfte (Uganda Hotel Owners‘ Association) werden in Zusammenarbeit mit STTA und Private Safaris zu Nachhaltigkeits- und Qualitätsstandards geschult, sodass sie ihre Mitglieder auf dem Weg Richtung Nachhaltigkeit und letztendlich zu einer Zertifizierung begleiten können.

Logos der Partner für Projekt Uganda

Schritt für Schritt

Grundsteine legen

Gemeinsam mit dem lokalen Partner STTA werden wir den Qualifizierungsbedarf der Tourismusakteure ermittelt und ein entsprechendes Konzept entwickeln. Nach einem Abgleich von Methoden und Tools von TourCert und STTA werden BeraterInnen des lokalen Partners im Rahmen von Train-the-Trainer-Schulungen ausgebildet, um selbst als TrainerInnen aktiv zu werden und Tourismusunternehmen auf dem Weg zur Zertifizierung zu begleiten.

Qualifizieren & stärken

Die neu ausgebildeten TrainerInnen von STTA werden anschließend in Zusammenarbeit mit TourCert die VertreterInnen der nationalen Verbände für Hotels (Uganda Hotel Owners‘ Association) und Reiseveranstalter (Association of Uganda Tour Operators) durch weitere Train-the-Trainer-Kurse schulen und qualifizieren. Auch sie sollen dazu befähigt werden, Nachhaltigkeitswissen an ihre Mitglieder weiterzugeben.

Wissen weitergeben

Zusammen mit STTA werden die VertreterInnen der nationalen Verbände Schulungen zu Nachhaltigkeits- und Qualitätsstandards für ihre Mitglieder durchführen und einzelne Pilot-Unternehmen zum TourCert Check bzw. zur Zertifizierung führen. Hinzu kommen spezielle Workshops zur wegweisenden nachhaltigen Produktentwicklung und ein Programm zur Stärkung der lokalen Wertschöpfung gemeinsam mit Private Safaris.

Vernetzen & vermarkten

Die teilnehmenden Tourismusunternehmen und die Verbände finden sich als „Excellence Destination Community Uganda“ zusammen und positionieren sich als nachhaltige Destination Uganda auf dem Markt. Das Projekt ermöglicht die Vernetzung innerhalb der nationalen Community und den Marktzugang nach Europa mit der internationalen TourCert Community, unter anderem durch eine globale innovative Portallösung.

Verbreiten & berichten

Durch Vorträge auf Veranstaltungen und Ferienmessen, Social Media Aktionen, Workshops zu Kommunikationsarbeit für MitarbeiterInnen von Reisebüros und durch unsere Pressearbeit wird von den Aktivitäten in Uganda berichtet und die neuen nachhaltigen Tourismusprodukte werden im Land selbst, in der TourCert Community und darüber hinaus bekannt gemacht.

Entdecken Sie Uganda für sich!

Ob als Reisende/r oder Reiseveranstalter, Uganda ist definitiv eine Reise wert. Mit dem Projekt Tourism Excellence Uganda fördern wir Qualitäts- und Nachhaltigkeitsstandards vor Ort und unterstützen die Entwicklung neuer verantwortungsbewusster Produkte. Haben Sie Interesse an einer Zusammenarbeit oder an weiteren Informationen? Melden Sie sich gerne bei uns.

esende