TourCert Latina

Large Arrow

Local Value Added in Latin America

With the support of the Austrian Development Agency (ADA) we carried out the TourCert Latina project from 2015 to 2019. Starting in Peru and Ecuador under the project name TourCert Andina, we were able to successfully anchor the TourCert system in Colombia and Costa Rica as well, thus enabling people in Latin America to have a better future through sustainable tourism. Even after the end of the project, the local community is very committed; certified companies are already developing new products and establishing cooperation networks across countries and continents.

Our goal – strengthening local tourism actors

To us, empowerment is the key! By training local people and sensitizing them for social and ecological issues, we ensure that companies develop in a self-dynamic and self-organised manner and can become sustainable through their own strength and conviction.

The aim of the TourCert qualification programme is to enable local actors to acquire new skills and to promote the dissemination of sustainable tourism. For the local population, new jobs can be created in the long term and negative effects of increasing tourism on local culture and the environment can be avoided.

This also benefits German tour operators and enables them to set up the value-added chain of their tours with a promising future.

Step by Step

Forging links

First of all, we built a local network which helped us to adapt the TourCert system to local requirements, before we were able to begin with the practical training of TourCert consultants and auditors.

Training on location

Local auditors assess the companies according to the strict TourCert guidelines and report to the regional certification council, who decides on the certification.

Assessments

Local consultants train sustainability managers. They accompany the companies in implementing a sustainability management system and guide them step by step towards certification.

Ensuring quality & networking

TourCert supports certified companies in further developing their products and their product quality in order to create a network of reliable partners for European tour operators.

Strengthening community

Intensive exchange and joint marketing activities at workshops and events, on the e-learning platform, via social media, the newsletter, press trips, or at trade fairs unite the TourCert community.

Our Success

Quite a lot has happened since the project TourCert Latina was launched in May 2015:

Transfer

As part of the project, we were able to successfully adapt our TourCert system, which has already been tried and tested in Germany, to the local conditions in Latin America and establish independent structures in Peru, Ecuador, Colombia and Costa Rica.

Qualification

26 local consultants and 13 auditors were trained – far more than planned. In addition, 287 people have successfully qualified as sustainability managers. A total of almost 2,500 training courses or e-learnings were conducted.

Growth

81 companies and destinations have achieved certification with the “TourCert label” in the course of the project, including four entire destinations. 63 organisations were awarded the “TourCert Check” entry-level system. A further 14 companies are in the process of being certified.

In particular, the destination approach developed by TourCert was a great success and exceeded all expectations. Through the certification of four sustainable destinations with a total of 170 partner companies, the project achieved a very high broad impact.

Multiplication

The local network is having an impact, the interest in TourCert certification remains high and is expanding to other areas such as community tourism. TourCert is successfully represented locally by local offices and partner organisations and the TourCert community is constantly being expanded.

Cooperation

We were able to agree a strategic partnership with the Ecuadorian Ministry of Tourism (MINTUR) and establish the TourCert system as a national certification system. We have also established a cooperation with the Colombian business association Asociación de Turismo Responsable (ACOTUR).

Status: June 2019

"In the future it will no longer be important that we can go everywhere, but whether it is still worthwhile to get there."

Hermann Löns

Viva América Latina!

The TourCert team and its local partners are highly motivated to expand the system and introduce it in other Latin American countries. Further companies and destinations are already in the process of certification, which speaks for the sustainable effect of the project to make tourism in Latin America fairer in the long run.

Angela Giraldo

Head of Training & Consulting

angela.giraldo@tourcert.org

+49 711 24839712

esende

TourCert Latina

Large Arrow

Lokale Wertschöpfung in Lateinamerika

Mit Unterstützung der Austrian Development Agency (ADA) haben wir von 2015 bis 2019 das Projekt TourCert Latina durchgeführt. Angefangen in Peru und Ecuador unter dem Projektnamen TourCert Andina konnten wir das TourCert-System auch in Kolumbien und Costa Rica erfolgreich verankern und damit Menschen in Lateinamerika durch nachhaltigen Tourismus eine bessere Zukunft ermöglichen. Auch nach dem Projektende ist die Gemeinschaft vor Ort sehr engagiert, zertifizierte Unternehmen entwickeln bereits neue Produkte und bauen Kooperationsnetzwerke über Länder und Kontinente hinweg auf.

Unser Ziel – Stärkung der lokalen Tourismusakteure

Der Schlüssel heißt für uns „Empowerment“. Indem wir Menschen vor Ort zu sozialen und ökologischen Problemstellungen sensibilisieren und schulen, sorgen wir dafür, dass sich Unternehmen eigendynamisch und selbstorganisiert weiterentwickeln und aus eigener Kraft und Überzeugung nachhaltig werden können.

Durch das Qualifizierungsprogramm von TourCert sollen die Akteure vor Ort neue Fähigkeiten erlangen und die Verbreitung eines nachhaltigen Tourismus gefördert werden. Für die lokale Bevölkerung können hierdurch langfristig neue Arbeitsplätze entstehen und negative Auswirkungen des zunehmenden Tourismus auf die lokale Kultur und Umwelt vermieden werden.

Dies kommt auch den deutschen Reiseveranstaltern zugute und ermöglicht ihnen, die Wertschöpfungskette ihrer Reisen zukunftsträchtig aufzustellen.

Logo von der Austrian Development Agency

Schritt für Schritt

Kontakte knüpfen

Zunächst haben wir uns vor Ort ein Netzwerk aufgebaut. Dies half uns dabei, das TourCert-System an lokale Bedürfnisse anzupassen, bevor wir mit der Praxis-Ausbildung von TourCert-BeraterInnen und AuditorInnen beginnen konnten.

Ausbildung vor Ort

Lokale BeraterInnen bilden CSR-ManagerInnen aus. Sie begleiten die Unternehmen bei der Implementierung eines Nachhaltigkeitsmanagementsystems und führen durch die Schritte des Zertifizierungsprozesses.

Auf dem Prüfstand

Lokale AuditorInnen begutachten die Unternehmen nach den strengen TourCert-Richtlinien und berichten an den regionalen Zertifizierungsrat. Dieser entscheidet über die Zertifizierung.

Qualität & Netzwerk sichern

TourCert unterstützt die zertifizierten Unternehmen bei der weiteren Qualitäts- und Produktentwicklung um ein Netzwerk von verlässlichen Partnern für europäische Reiseveranstalter zu schaffen.

Community stärken

Intensiver Austausch und gemeinsame Marketingmaßnahmen bei Workshops und Veranstaltungen, auf der Online-Lernplattform, über Social Media und Newsletter, Pressereisen oder auf Messen verbünden die TourCert Community.

Unser Erfolg

Seit dem Start des Projekts TourCert Latina im Mai 2015 hat sich einiges getan:

Transfer

Im Rahmen des Projekts konnten wir unser bereits in Deutschland erprobtes TourCert-System sehr erfolgreich an die lokalen Bedingungen von Lateinamerika anpassen und eigenständige Strukturen in Peru, Ecuador, Kolumbien und Costa Rica etablieren.

Qualifizierung

Es wurden 26 lokale Beratungskräfte und 13 AuditorInnen ausgebildet weit über den geplanten Zielen. Außerdem haben sich 287 Personen erfolgreich als NachhaltigkeitsmanagerInnen qualifiziert. Insgesamt konnten knapp 2.500 Fortbildungen oder E-Learnings durchgeführt werden.

Wachstum

81 Unternehmen bzw. Destinationen haben es im Laufe des Projekts zur Zertifizierung mit dem „TourCert-Siegel“ geschafft, darunter vier ganze Destinationen. 63 Organisationen wurden mit dem Einstiegssystem „TourCert Check“ ausgezeichnet Weitere 14 Unternehmen befinden sich im Prozess, sich zu zertifizieren.

Speziell der von TourCert entwickelte Destinationsansatz war ein großer Erfolg und überstieg alle Erwartungen. Durch die Zertifizierung von vier Nachhaltigen Reisezielen mit insgesamt 170 Partnerbetrieben erreichte das Projekt eine sehr hohe Breitenwirksamkeit.

Multiplikation

Das Netzwerk vor Ort zeigt Wirkung, das Interesse an der TourCert-Zertifizierung ist weiterhin groß und weitet sich auch auf andere Bereiche wie den Gemeindetourismus aus. TourCert wird vor Ort von lokalen Büros und Partnerorganisationen erfolgreich vertreten und die TourCert Community ständig ausgebaut.

Kooperation

Wir konnten mit dem Tourismusministerium von Ecuador (MINTUR) eine strategische Partnerschaft vereinbaren und das TourCert-System als nationales Zertifizierungssystem etablieren. Außerdem haben wir mit dem kolumbianischen Unternehmensverband Asociación de Turismo Responsable (ACOTUR) eine Kooperation aufgebaut.

Stand: Juni 2019

„Zukünftig wird es nicht mehr darauf ankommen, dass wir überall hinfahren können, sondern ob es sich lohnt, dort noch anzukommen.“

Hermann Löns

Viva América Latina!

Aufgrund der bisherigen Erfolge ist das Team von TourCert mit seinen Partnern vor Ort hoch motiviert, das System auszuweiten und in weiteren lateinamerikanischen Ländern einzuführen. Es befinden sich bereits weitere Unternehmen und Destinationen im Prozess, was für die nachhaltige Wirkung des Projektes spricht, den Tourismus in Lateinamerika langfristig fairer zu gestalten.

Angela Giraldo

Head of Training & Consulting

angela.giraldo@tourcert.org

+49 711 24839712

esende