TourCert Journal

First biodiversity-oriented destination in the Dominican Republic

Share

Las Galeras seeks certification as a sustainable destination with focus on biodiversity

The holiday region Las Galeras on the peninsula Samana is an almost undiscovered jewel: The fantastic beaches, the small fishing village, the breathtaking nature and Caribbean calmness are only known to a few. Here you are still far away from mass tourism – and that should remain this way.

The district council of Las Galeras, in cooperation with the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ), the ministries for the environment and tourism, the tourism companies and the local community, has begun a path to certification as the first sustainable destination in the world with a focus on biodiversity. The process is carried out by the international certification company TourCert.

Partner des Projekts
Satisfied faces at the kick-off event: Julio Lamano, Regional Sustainability Manager, Angela Giraldo of TourCert, Svenja Paulino, Director of the Biodiversity and Business Program in Central America and the Dominican Republic of GIZ, and Cecilio Garcia Javier, Director of the Las Galeras District Council

“[…] We are aware of the importance and benefits, that sustainable tourism and the inclusion of biodiversity criteria can bring to the district, which is why we are trying to facilitate this certification process.”

Cecilio Garcia Javier, director of the Las Galeras district council

In September, TourCert carried out a feasibility study and a meeting with the local community to ensure the conditions for certification. Las Galeras has created a Sustainability Board from different business areas as a basic structure for the management, promotion and monitoring of certification-related activities.

Ein Einblick in die Urlaubsregion Las Galeras
An insight into the Las Galeras holiday region

The project started at the beginning of November with the training of local biodiversity consultants and an inventory of the most important products. An initial workshop was held with more than 40 people from the population, environmental organisations, ministries and tourism companies.

The partner companies of the destination are an important part of the 12-month process. 20 companies have already started to analyse their approach to sustainability and biodiversity using checklists. In particular, attractions in the hinterland should be more integrated in order not to concentrate all tourist activities on the beach. Nature reserves, mangrove forests, a “ginger route” and of course the local communities invite you to stay and enjoy.

Teilnehmer des Einführungsworkshops bestimmen die beteiligten Akteure
Participants of the introductory workshop determine the actors involved

The certification is a pilot process of GIZ and TourCert following an alliance between the two parties. With the technical support of the Global Nature Fund, biodiversity indicators will be integrated to award the TourCert label. This provides the tourism sector with instruments, which promote the protection and conservation of biodiversity with the participation of various stakeholders.

Further information on the project can be found at the Global Nature Fund. Click here for an insight into destination certification.

Tags
Biodiversity, GIZ, Global Nature Fund, Las Galeras, sustainable destination

esende

TourCert Journal

Erste biodiversitätsorientierte Destination in der Dominikanischen Republik

Strand Las Galeras

Share

Las Galeras strebt die Zertifizierung als nachhaltiges Reiseziel mit dem Schwerpunkt Biodiversität an

Die Urlaubsregion Las Galeras auf der Halbinsel Samana ist ein noch nahezu unentdecktes Juwel: Die traumhaften Strände, das kleine Fischerdorf, die atemberaubende Natur und karibische Gelassenheit sind bisher nur wenigen bekannt. Hier ist man noch fernab vom Massentourismus – und das soll auch so bleiben.

Der Bezirksrat von Las Galeras hat in Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), den Ministerien für Umwelt und Tourismus, den Tourismusunternehmen und der Gemeinde vor Ort einen Weg zur Zertifizierung als erste nachhaltige Destination mit Schwerpunkt Biodiversität der Welt begonnen. Der Prozess wird vom internationalen Zertifizierungsunternehmen TourCert durchgeführt.

Partner des Projekts
Zufriedene Gesichter bei der Auftaktveranstaltung (v.l.n.r.): Julio Lamano, Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragter der Region, Angela Giraldo von TourCert, Svenja Paulino, Direktorin des Biodiversitäts- und Geschäftsprogramms in Mittelamerika und der Dominikanischen Republik der GIZ, und Cecilio Garcia Javier, Direktor des Bezirksvorstands Las Galeras

„[…] Wir sind uns der Bedeutung und des Nutzens bewusst, die ein nachhaltiger Tourismus und die Einbeziehung von Biodiversitätskriterien für den Bezirk mit sich bringen können, weshalb wir versuchen, diesen Prozess zur Zertifizierung zu erleichtern.“

Cecilio Garcia Javier, Direktor des Bezirksvorstands Las Galeras

Im September fand von Seiten TourCert eine Machbarkeitsstudie und ein Treffen mit der lokalen Gemeinde statt, um die Voraussetzungen für die Zertifizierung zu gewährleisten. Las Galeras hat einen Nachhaltigkeitsrat aus verschiedenen Geschäftsbereichen als Basisstruktur für die Verwaltung, Förderung und Überwachung von Maßnahmen im Zusammenhang mit der Zertifizierung geschaffen.

Ein Einblick in die Urlaubsregion Las Galeras
Ein Einblick in die Urlaubsregion Las Galeras

Anfang November startete das Projekt mit der Fortbildung von lokalen Biodiversitätsberatern und einer Bestandsaufnahme der wichtigsten Produkte. Es fand ein Startworkshop mit über 40 Personen aus der Bevölkerung, Umweltorganisationen, Ministerien und touristischen Unternehmen statt.

Die Partnerbetriebe der Destination sind wichtiger Bestandteil des rund 12-monatigen Prozesses. 20 Unternehmen haben bereits mit der Arbeit begonnen, ihr Verhältnis zu Nachhaltigkeit und Biodiversität anhand von Checklisten zu analysieren. Insbesondere Attraktionen im Hinterland sollen mehr eingebunden werden um nicht die gesamten touristischen Aktivitäten auf den Strand zu konzentrieren. Naturschutzgebiete, Mangrovenwälder, eine „Ingwerroute“ und natürlich die lokalen Gemeinden laden zum Verweilen ein.

Teilnehmer des Einführungsworkshops bestimmen die beteiligten Akteure
Teilnehmer des Einführungsworkshops bestimmen die beteiligten Akteure

Die Zertifizierung entsteht als Pilotprozess der GIZ und von TourCert nach einer zwischen beiden Parteien geschlossenen Allianz. Mit technischer Unterstützung des Global Nature Fund werden Biodiversitätsindikatoren zur Vergabe des Siegels integriert. Damit stehen dem Tourismussektor Instrumente zur Verfügung, die den Schutz und die Erhaltung der Biodiversität unter Beteiligung verschiedener Akteure fördern.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie beim Global Nature Fund. Einen Einblick in die Destinationszertifizierung erhalten Sie hier.

Tags
Biodiversität, GIZ, Global Nature Fund, Las Galeras, nachhaltiges reiseziel

esende