Certification Council

Independent and on a volunteer basis, our council members from the business sector, academics, environment, development and politics decide on the framework and the TourCert certifications to be awarded.

Members

Portrait Prof. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher, Vorsitzende des Zertifizierungsrats

Chairperson of the Certification Council

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher
MODUL University, Vienna

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher is head of the Department of Tourism and Service Management at MODUL University Vienna. She studied business management in Graz and Vienna and completed her doctoral studies at the Institute of Tourism and Leisure Management at Vienna University of Economics and Business. She has been researching and teaching for many years in the field of sustainable tourism with a focus on CSR, climate change, mobility, sustainable food, and consumer behaviour. She is actively engaged in various international networks, both academic and linked to business/economic interests (BEST EN, Futouris, and others).

www.modul.ac.at/about/departments/tourism-and-service-management

Portrait Antje Monshausen, Tourism Watch – Brot für die Welt

Antje Monshausen
Tourism Watch – Bread for the World, Berlin

Antje Monshausen is a graduate in geography and Latin America studies. After her first positions at the Church Development Service (EED), she has since 2012 been head of Tourism Watch, a policy desk at Bread for the World. Tourism Watch works with national and international partners on tourism development with a focus on human rights and the self-determination of local communities. Climate change and concepts of voluntary and binding corporate responsibility also constitute focus areas of Tourism Watch.

www.tourism-watch.de
www.brot-fuer-die-welt.de

Portrait Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Strasdas, Hochschule für Nachhaltige Entwicklung

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Strasdas
Eberswalde University of Sustainable Development

Wolfgang Strasdas is a landscape planner and since 2002 professor at Eberswalde University of Sustainable Development where he is head of the Centre for Sustainable Tourism (ZENAT) and Master studies in sustainable tourism management. In his research and education he focuses on climate change, management of protected areas, rural regional development, and corporate responsibility. In addition, Prof. Strasdas has for 20 years worked as a freelance tourism consultant with a focus on developing countries, especially in Southern and francophone Africa. He is a member of the advisory board of Futouris e.V. and the national committee of UNESCO Global Geoparks, among others.

www.zenat-tourismus.de

Portrait Herbert Hamele, Ecotrans

Herbert Hamele
Ecotrans, Saarbrücken

Herbert Hamele is chairman of ECOTRANS, a European network of organisations and experts on sustainable tourism. He mainly works on environmental and sustainability certification in tourism world wide, management of the online platform tourismus2030-DestiNet Services, development and consultancy of projects and initiatives for environmentally sustainable and socially responsible tourism, and with national and international bodies.

www.destinet.eu/ecotrans
www.destinet.eu

Portrait Karmen Mentil, ÖAR Regionalberatung

Karmen Mentil
ÖAR Regional Consulting, Vienna

Karmen Mentil is a consultant and partner at ÖAR Regional Consulting GmbH, consultancy for sustainable tourism, regional development, project management and international projects. Since 2006 she has been director of the tourism network Alpine Pearls, an umbrella brand for environmentally friendly mobility in tourism throughout the Alpine region. www.alpine-pearls.com. Focussing on: strategy development, marketing, product development, workshops and training, media, PR, quality control, planning and implementation of technical conferences. Reference project: long years of consultancy of the award-winning model destination Werfenweng with regard to their eco-friendly mobility services.

www.oear.at

Portrait Gabriele Landen © ver.di

Chairperson of the Certification Council

Gabriele Landen
ver.di, Berlin

Gaby Landen has since 2003 been volunteer chairperson of ver.di’s national committee on tourism, leisure and well-being. At ver.di she is committed to the concerns of all workers in the tourism sector and works to ensure humane and social working conditions for all employees, trainees and interns in the entire tourism sector. This is a difficult task in the sector, as many employers deteriorate social conditions and lower salaries by bypassing labour agreements.

www.verdi.de
www.darum.verdi.de

Portrait Dr. Christian Baumgartner, Response & Ability

Christian Baumgartner
Response & Ability, Vienna

Christian Baumgartner, PhD, studied landscape ecology. In 2015, he founded response & ability. After founding respect – Institute for Integrative Tourism and Development in 1995, he was Secretary General of Naturefriends International. In addition to teaching at Krems (Austria) and Chur (Switzerland), he is a member of various tourism consultancy bodies, e.g. the advisory bodies of the Austrian and European Ecolabels. Christian Baumgartner is specialised in the development, implementation and monitoring of sustainable tourism and has accompanied various projects in Europe, Central and South East Asia.

www.responseandability.com

Portrait Prof. Urs Wagenseil, Hochschule Luzern

Prof. Urs Wagenseil
University of Lucerne

Urs Wagenseil has since 2005 been professor at the University of Lucerne – Economics and head of tourism at the department of tourism management. Focus of work in different countries: Consultancy in strategic development of destinations; destination marketing, cooperation management; teaching in Germany and Spain; management of research projects; publications, speeches. Previous positions: Kuoni Head Office Zürich, Switzerland (various positions); RB Wettstein, Switzerland (CEO); Diners Club Switzerland (Sales Manager International Corporate Accounts); Lenzerheide Tourism, Switzerland; director of tourism (destination manager).

www.hslu.ch/de-ch/wirtschaft/institute/itw

Portrait Dirk Dunkelberg, Deutscher Tourismusverband

Dirk Dunkelberg
German Tourism Association, Berlin

Dirk Dunkelberg is vice CEO and manager of technical and project work with the German Tourism Association (DTV). He is in charge of sustainable development in tourism in Germany and of DTV’s technical committee “Sustainable Tourism“. Furthermore, he coordinates all funded projects, especially those on sustainable tourism. He is a member of the advisory board of Germany’s federal ”Blue Ribbon“ programme by the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) and the Federal Ministry for Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB). He is a member of the research advisory board of the German Economic Institute for Tourism at Munich University (DWIF) and regular guest at the tourism conference of the Association of German Cities.

www.deutschertourismusverband.de/politik/nachhaltigkeit

Portrait Martina von Münchhausen

Martina von Münchhausen
WWF, Hamburg

Martina von Münchhausen is in charge of the tourism programme of WWF (World Wide Fund for Nature) Germany at the International WWF Centre for Marine Conservation. Previously, she worked for ten years at the department of nature conservation at the central offices of WWF Germany in Frankfurt am Main. When the new offices in Hamburg were set up, she moved and has since 2006 been working on strengthening sustainable tourism and its development and on joint strategies with the tourism industry. Other focus areas of her work are the reduction of the tourism footprint, climate change and the introduction of a globally recognised sustainability label in tourism.

www.wwf.de

Extraordinary Members

Portrait Petra Thomas, forum anders reisen e. V.

Petra Thomas
forum anders reisen e. V., Hamburg

Petra Thomas is CEO of forum anders reisen e.V., the German umbrella association in sustainable tourism. The association was founded in 1998. It has about 130 member companies and is engaged in the development and propagation of sustainable tourism based on content criteria, which takes people and the environment as an orientation. To that effect, the members have committed themselves to a comprehensive set of criteria, the observation of which has since 2008 been monitored in a compulsory CSR process. The association supports its members in the implementation, works on improving the political conditions, and informs the public on sustainable tourism.

www.forumandersreisen.de

Portrait Roland Schmidt, Schweizer Reise-Verband (SRV)

Roland Schmid
Swiss Federation of Travel Agents (SRV), Zurich

Roland Schmid has since 2016 worked as an independent consultant, speaker and mentor in tourism. Previously, the Bachelor in Business Management with an NDS in Communication Management & Leadership was head of communication, sustainability and crises management at TUI Suisse for 17 years. In 2009 he was a founding member of the sustainability initiative Futouris. At the Swiss Federation of Travel Agents (SRV), he manages the technical body on Environment & Social Affairs. He represents the SRV in national (Swiss Centre of Expertise in Human Rights, SKMR) and international bodies (TourCert Certification Council, Roundtable Human Rights in Tourism).

www.srv.ch

esdeen

Zertifizierungsrat

Unabhängig und ehrenamtlich entscheiden unsere Räte aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Umwelt, Entwicklung und Politik über die Rahmenbedingungen und Vergabe der TourCert-Zertifizierungen.

Mitglieder

Portrait Prof. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher, Vorsitzende des Zertifizierungsrats

Vorsitzende des Zertifizierungsrats

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher
MODUL Universität, Wien

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Lund-Durlacher ist Vorstand des Departments of Tourism and Service Management an der MODUL University Vienna. Sie studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Graz und Wien und promovierte am Institut für Tourismus und Freizeitwirtschaft an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien. Sie forscht und lehrt seit vielen Jahren im Bereich des Nachhaltigen Tourismus mit Schwerpunkten zu den Themen CSR, Klimawandel, Mobilität, Sustainable Food und Konsumentenverhalten. Sie engagiert sich aktiv in zahlreichen internationalen wissenschaftlichen und wirtschaftsnahen Netzwerken (u.a. BEST EN, Futouris).

www.modul.ac.at/about/departments/tourism-and-service-management

Portrait Antje Monshausen, Tourism Watch – Brot für die Welt

Antje Monshausen
Tourism Watch – Brot für die Welt, Berlin

Antje Monshausen ist Diplomgeographin mit einem Begleitabschluss in Lateinamerikastudien. Nach ersten Stationen beim Evangelischen Entwicklungsdienst, ist sie seit 2012 Leiterin von Tourism Watch, einer Arbeitsstelle der Politikabteilung von Brot für die Welt. Tourism Watch setzt sich mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern für eine menschenrechtlich ausgerichteten Tourismusentwicklung, sowie die Selbstbestimmung lokaler Gemeinschaften ein. Klimagerechtigkeit und Konzepte der freiwilligen und verbindlichen Unternehmensverantwortung bilden darüber hinaus weitere Arbeitsschwerpunkte.

www.tourism-watch.de
www.brot-fuer-die-welt.de

Portrait Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Strasdas, Hochschule für Nachhaltige Entwicklung

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Strasdas
Hochschule für Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Eberswalde

Wolfgang Strasdas ist Landschaftsplaner und seit 2002 Professor an der Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde. Er leitet dort das Zentrum für Nachhaltigen Tourismus (ZENAT) und den Master-Studiengang Nachhaltiges Tourismusmanagement. Lehre und Forschung konzentrieren sich auf die Themenfelder Klimawandel, Schutzgebietsmanagement, ländliche Regionalentwicklung und Unternehmensverantwortung. Daneben ist Prof. Strasdas seit über 20 Jahren freiberuflicher Tourismusberater mit Schwerpunkt auf Entwicklungsländern, vor allem im südlichen und frankophonen Afrika. Er ist u.a. Beiratsmitglied für Futouris e.V. und im Nationalkomitee für UNESCO Global Geoparks.

www.zenat-tourismus.de

Portrait Herbert Hamele, Ecotrans

Herbert Hamele
Ecotrans, Saarbrücken

Herbert Hamele ist Vorsitzender von ECOTRANS, Europäisches Netzwerk von Organisationen und Experten für nachhaltigen Tourismus. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit sind Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitszertifizierungen im Tourismus weltweit, Management der Internetplattform Tourismus2030-DestiNet Services, Entwicklung und Beratung von Projekten und Initiativen für umwelt- und sozialverträglichen Tourismus sowie die Mitarbeit in nationalen und internationalen Gremien.

www.destinet.eu/ecotrans
www.destinet.eu

Portrait Karmen Mentil, ÖAR Regionalberatung

Karmen Mentil
ÖAR Regionalberatung, Wien

Karmen Mentil ist Beraterin und Gesellschafterin der ÖAR Regionalberatung GmbH, Beratung für nachhaltigen Tourismus, Regionalberatung und Projektmanagement internationale Projekte. Seit 2006 Geschäftsführerin des alpenweiten Tourismusnetzwerkes Alpine Pearls, der Dachmarke für Sanfte Mobilität im Tourismus. www.alpine-pearls.com. Schwerpunkte: Strategieentwicklung, Marketing, Produktenwicklung, Workshops und Trainings, Medienarbeit, PR, Qualitätskontrolle, Planung und Umsetzung von Fachveranstaltungen. Referenzprojekt: langjährige Beratung des oftmals preisgekrönten Modellorts Werfenweng hinsichtlich der Angebotsentwicklung Sanfte Mobilität.

www.oear.at

Portrait Gabriele Landen

Vorsitzende des Zertifizierungsrats

Gabriele Landen
ver.di, Berlin

Gaby Landen ist seit 2003 ehrenamtliche Vorsitzende der Bundesfachgruppe Touristik, Freizeit und Wohlbefinden in der Gewerkschaft ver.di. Mit ver.di tritt sie für die Belange aller Mitarbeiter in der Tourismusbranche ein, sie setzt sich dafür ein, dass die Arbeitsbedingungen aller Arbeitnehmerinnen, Arbeitnehmer, Auszubildenden und Praktikanten in der gesamten Tourismusbranche menschenwürdig und sozial sind. In der Branche gestaltet sich dies schwer, da viele Arbeitgeber durch Tarifflucht die sozialen Bedingungen und Gehälter verschlechtern.

www.verdi.de
www.darum.verdi.de

Portrait Dr. Christian Baumgartner, Response & Ability

Dr. Christian Baumgartner
Response & Ability, Wien

Dr. Christian Baumgartner ist Landschaftsökologe. 2015 gründete er response & ability. Nach der Gründung von respect – Institut für Integrativen Tourismus und Entwicklung 1995 war er Generalsekretär der Naturfreunde Internationale. Neben seiner Lehrtätigkeit in Krems (A), Chur (CH) ist er Mitglied in diversen touristischen Beratungsgremien wie u.a. den Begleitgremien des Österreichischen wie des Europäischen Umweltzeichens. Christian Baumgartner ist auf Entwicklung, Umsetzung und Monitoring von Nachhaltigem Tourismus spezialisiert und hat zahlreiche Projekte in Europa, Zentral- und Südostasien begleitet.

www.responseandability.com

Portrait Prof. Urs Wagenseil, Hochschule Luzern

Prof. Urs Wagenseil
Hochschule Luzern

Urs Wagenseil ist seit 2005 Professor an der Hochschule Luzern – Wirtschaft und Leiter des Bereiches Tourismus am Institut für Tourismuswirtschaft. Arbeitsschwerpunkte in verschiedenen Ländern: Beratung in strategischen Entwicklungen von Destinationen; Destinationsmarketing, Kooperations-Management; Lehrtätigkeit in D und E; Leitung von Forschungsprojekten; Publikations- und Referatstätigkeit. Frühere Berufstätigkeit: Kuoni Head Office Zürich, Schweiz (div. Funktionen); RB Wettstein, Schweiz (Geschäftsführer); Diners Club Switzerland (Sales Manager International Corporate Accounts); Lenzerheide Tourismus, Schweiz; Tourismus-Direktor (Destinationsmanager).

www.hslu.ch/de-ch/wirtschaft/institute/itw

Portrait Dirk Dunkelberg, Deutscher Tourismusverband

Dirk Dunkelberg
Deutscher Tourismusverband, Berlin

Dirk Dunkelberg ist als stellv. Hauptgeschäftsführer und Bereichsleiter Fach- und Projektarbeit beim Deutschen Tourismusverband (DTV) u.a. zuständig für das Thema der nachhaltigen Entwicklung im Tourismus in Deutschland und betreut im DTV den Fachausschuss „Nachhaltiger Tourismus“. Darüber hinaus koordiniert er alle mit Fördermitteln durchzuführende Projekte, insbesondere auch zum nachhaltigen Tourismus. Er ist Mitglied im Beirat „Bundesprogramm Blaues Band Deutschland“ von BMVI und BMUB, Mitglied im Forschungsbeirat beim Deutschen Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Institut für Fremdenverkehr an der Universität München (DWIF) und ständiger Gast bei der Konferenz Tourismus beim Deutschen Städtetag.

www.deutschertourismusverband.de/politik/nachhaltigkeit

Portrait Martina von Münchhausen

Martina von Münchhausen
WWF, Hamburg

Martina von Münchhausen ist verantwortlich für das Tourismus-Programm des WWF (World Wide Fund for Nature) Deutschland im internationalen WWF Zentrum für Meeresschutz. Sie arbeitete zuvor zehn Jahre in der Naturschutzabteilung der Zentrale des WWF Deutschland in Frankfurt am Main. Mit Eröffnung des neuen Büros in Hamburg wechselte sie und arbeitet seit 2006 an der Stärkung von nachhaltigem Tourismus und dessen Entwicklung sowie an gemeinsamen Strategien mit der Tourismusindustrie. Weitere Schwerpunkte sind die Reduzierung des touristischen Fußabdrucks, der Klimawandel und die Einführung eines weltweit anerkannten Tourismussiegels für Nachhaltigkeit.

www.wwf.de

Außerordentliche Mitglieder

Portrait Petra Thomas, forum anders reisen e. V.

Petra Thomas
forum anders reisen e. V., Hamburg

Petra Thomas ist Geschäftsführerin des forum anders reisen e.V., Dachverband für nachhaltigen Tourismus. Der 1998 gegründete Verband mit rund 130 Mitgliedsunternehmen engagiert sich für die Entwicklung und Verbreitung eines auf inhaltlichen Kriterien basierenden nachhaltigen Tourismus, der sich an den Menschen und der Umwelt orientiert. Dazu haben sich die Mitglieder in einem umfangreichen Kriterienkatalog verpflichtet, dessen Einhaltung durch einen seit 2008 obligatorischen CSR-Prozess überprüft wird. Der Verband unterstützt seine Mitglieder bei der Implementierung, setzt sich für die politischen Rahmenbedingungen ein und schafft Öffentlichkeit zur Förderung des nachhaltigen Tourismus.

www.forumandersreisen.de

Portrait Roland Schmidt, Schweizer Reise-Verband (SRV)

Roland Schmid
Schweizer Reise-Verband (SRV), Zürich

Roland Schmid ist seit 2016 selbständiger Berater, Referent und Mentor im Tourismus. Vorher leitete der Betriebsökonom FH mit NDS in Communication Management & Leadership bei TUI Suisse während 17 Jahren die Bereiche Kommunikation, Nachhaltigkeit und Krisenmanagement. 2009 war er Gründungsmitglied der Nachhaltigkeitsinitiative Futouris. Im Schweizer Reise-Verband (SRV) führt er das Fachgremium Umwelt & Soziales. Er vertritt den SRV in nationalen (Kompetenzzentrum für Menschenrechte, SKMR) und internationalen Gremien (Zertifizierungsrat von TourCert, Roundtable Menschenrechte im Tourismus).

www.srv.ch

de